Still Life #3: “Eagle Oil Can”

eagle_oil

This oil can has been in my life for as long as I can remember and I was excited to use it in this still life series because it would be difficult to do without making it overly sentimental. That is something I am trying to avoid because I want viewers to bring their own memories and experiences to the paintings. The still life objects I have been painting may be charged with meaning for me, but I present them straight-up like Warhol’s soup cans.

The background is painted white and to give it interest I put the paint on thickly and scored it with the back of my paintbrush.

This painting is in oils on two canvas 8” x 6” covered panels. This and other work can be seen at amrfineart.com.

Leave a Reply

