Still Life #4: “Combination Square”

combination square

I painted this combination square because of the cobalt blue square head and the florescent green spirit level. I like colors that are as pure (as in straight from the tube) as possible. I think it is a beautiful tool.

The numbers on the ruler were especially challenging (tiny brushes!), as was getting the ruler to look metallic. I used cadmium orange for the background because it seemed to be a very close compliment to cobalt blue. Unfortunately, I think these color combinations are difficult for my camera to record….

This is painted in oils on a wood panel and measures 11” x 14”.

To see more work please visit my website at amrfineart.com.

Leave a Reply

