Still Life #5: Stanley Level

level

The background colors here are taken from those used for some kinds of traditional drawing paper. It is a device I have used elsewhere to underscore the long history of drawing and paintings and my way of reconciling that history with contemporary art.

This Stanley level is another tool that has been in my memory since I was a small boy following my father around the house while he did his chores. My previous posts of this series tell more of the story of these paintings.

This painting is on three 5” x 7” canvas-on-wood panels. To see more of my work checkout amrfineart.com.

Leave a Reply

