Still life #6, “Nail Set”

Nail Set

The challenge with the kind of still life painting I have been doing in this series is to make a dynamic composition or at least an image that makes people stop and look. I puzzled over how to avoid making a static picture that doesn’t just sit there on the wall. This painting is, fortunately, painted on two separate panels, so I can play with different combinations of what is potentially a boring arrangement of either entirely vertical or horizontal shapes and lines. The picture above is what I have settled on (for now). To get there I went through a process that looked like this:

nail set possibities

I put this composite image together from left to right starting from the top row. Feel free to let me know your favorite combination of any two panels!

This is painted in oils on two 5″ x 5″ panels. More paintings here.

Leave a comment