Paintings from digital images: #1

 

enid louisa 2

A few years ago my wife came home from visiting a friend at the School of the Art Institute in Chicago with a temporary ID sticker. The sticker had a compelling image of her and our daughter and it stuck in my head for days. I examined it with a magnifying glass and was struck by how the little photo was really just a seemingly random collection of lines, but the lines in some ways resembled the lines that I used in drawing. They (the lines) uncannily revealed the form. I loved the human quality it had even though it were so manifestly “digital.”

I decided to make a painting of the image and see what could happen. Using my scanner I enlarged the image and printed out a copy that was large enough and clear enough to work with. This allowed me to transfer the image to a 24″ x 24″ panel and begin painting. From the start I took advantage of my transfer grid to create random color patterns in faded blue and rose. The color used to make the image is a mixed black¬†consisting of phthalo blue, burnt siena and alizarin crimson. The color from profound black to blue to redish brown depending how the colors are proportioned. Using this method instead of ivory black I can make interesting variations.

Please feel free to ask questions or leave comments. You can see more of my work on my website, amrfineart.com.

Leave a Reply

