Paintings from digital images #6

enid and howard sm

This painting is from a photograph I took of my wife and our tour guide in Montego Bay, Jamaica. He was showing us a sweeping view from The Queens Road overlooking the bay, airport and town. As I do with these “digital” paintings, I printed the photograph with my thermal printer, scanned, enlarged and printed the image for reference. This time, however, I was reluctant to stick to my usual plan which would have resulted in a painting similar to my previous post (#5). I tried to proceed as before, but the bright colors and lush vegetation were too beautiful for me to resist painting more fully than from a thermal image. So I caved in to my instinct and went with this hybrid approach.

I thought of this and the painting in the previous post as part of a matched pair which is why they are both in the common cinema widescreen ratio of 2.35:1 with the black bands at top and bottom.

You can see other paintings at amrfineart.com.

Leave a Reply

