Paintings of landscapes #3

graffiti

This is a painting of a tree I saw in Paris in the Parc du Champs-de-Mars very close to the Eiffel Tower. I have done many “portrait” drawings of trees, but this is my first painting of one. What is so striking in this image is that this tree has been grotesquely disfigured with graffiti, but one can hardly make out any coherent word or symbol. It does, however, seem quite eloquent on the subject of humankind’s need to assert or state our being. In this case, however, it comes out as a rather pathetic, sad and confused statement.

I originally did an ink drawing of this, but I had the idea to paint it using impasto medium to give the paint a richer, thicker, textured surface. If you touch the painting or see it up close it looks like the marks are carved into the panel.  This was mainly done by using the wooden end of my paintbrush to carve lines in the impastoed paint. Painting this was tedious beyond belief because I had to not only get all the drawing right, but I had to go over it many times. (BTW, I love to touch my paintings. I was running my hand over one of them once in front of another artist and she was aghast!)

This is painted in oils on a 24” x 18” panel. Please visit armfineart.com to see more work.

One thought on “Paintings of landscapes #3

Leave a Reply

