Tree portrait in ink #3

easequoia

This is a drawing of a sequoia tree that I came across in a garden at Lake Como (or Lake Maggiore) in northern Italy. The variety of exotic trees growing within sight of the Alps amazed me. I couldn’t quite get me head around the giant palm trees growing so far north.

I was attracted to this tree because of its great spiraling pattern reminding me of galactic forms.

This and most subsequent drawings were done from photographs — no time to sit and work on short vacations.

I like drawing with pen and ink mainly because it is challenging to do one’s best with inevitable mistakes. I can get too fussy with pencil where the eraser can become an obsessive burden.

This drawing is done in walnut ink and measures 9″ x 6″. Visit here for more work!

Leave a Reply

