Tree portrait in pen & ink #6

cherry_tree_2

This is a variation on a drawing I did in of a cherry tree in Central Park, NYC. The original was done on the spot in my more traditional style while this one uses hash patterns to build volume. I did this simply because I liked the original drawing and I wanted to see what else I could make out of it. In retrospect I see that the marks and patterns are reminiscent of those used by Van Gogh in his ink drawings. That is not surprising to me as he is one of my favorite draftsmen (persons). I am, however, surprised that it took me so long to notice the similarity… One major difference is that his marks are much bigger and more varied than mine. He used a bamboo pen on large paper while this drawing is done with a metal dip pen in a 9″ x 6″ format.

Never hesitate to visit my website to see more work!

Leave a Reply

